April 1, 2023

Why Yogi Adityanath may smash 4 records while contesting from Gorakhpur in UP election | India News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: At last, the suspense whether Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath would contest the forthcoming assembly election and from which constituency is over. The CM may create a series of record of sorts which depends upon three factors – if he wins from his Gorakhpur (urban) seat, if BJP wins a majority and if Yogi Adityanath retains the CM’s post for the second consecutive term.
On Saturday, Union education minister Dharmendra Pradhan, who is the BJP leader in-charge of the UP assembly election, announced the list of 107 candidates. They included the names of 57 out of total 58 seats going to polls in the first phase on February 10, 48 out of the total 55 seats going to polls in the second phase on February 14 and that of Yogi Adityanath from Gorakhpur and deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya from Siratu in Prayagraj.
While voting in Gorakhpur (Urban) would be held in the sixth phase on March 3, that in Siratu would be held in the fifth phase on February 27.
In a series of tweets in Hindi, Yogi Adityanath expressed his gratitude to the party leaders for choosing him to contest from Gorakhpur (Urban) seat.
He said, “I am grateful to respected Prime Minister @narendramodi, honourable national president @JPNadda and the Parliamentary Board for fielding me as a BJP candidate from Gorakhpur (Urban) in the upcoming assembly election.”

In another tweet, he wished success to all the candidates. The UP CM said, “Hearty congratulations and best wishes to all the BJP candidates declared today for the Uttar Pradesh legislative assembly election-2022.”

Yogi Adityanath may well create at least four records, provided he wins from Gorakhpur (Urban) seat, the BJP gets a majority and he is elected CM for the second consecutive term.
Third CM to complete tenure
Yogi Adityanath has already registered a record to his name. So far, UP has seen 21 CMs in about 70 years since India’s most populous state’s first assembly was constituted on May 20, 1952. However, only three have completed the complete tenure of five years.
While Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati was the first one (2007-2012) and Samajwadi Party (SP) president Akhilesh Yadav the second (2012-2017), Yogi Adityanath has become the third CM to complete the full tenure.
First MLA CM in 15 years
Yogi Adityanath would be the first MLA CM in 15 years. Before him, Mayawati was an MLC as CM between 2007 and 2012. Akhilesh Yadav was also an MLC when he was the CM between 2012 and 2017.
Yogi Adityanath was a five-term Lok Sabha MP from Gorakhpur when he was elected as CM with the BJP coming to power with a resounding victory, winning 312 of the 403 assembly seats. Along with its two allies of Union minister Anupriya Patel-headed Apna Dal and OP Rajbhar-led Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party (SBSP), the NDA won 325 seats.
SBSP, dominant among a section of the OBCs, has aligned with SP for the upcoming election. The BJP’s alliance partners are Apna Dal and Nishad Party in this year’s election.
Meanwhile, after becoming the CM, Adityanath chose to become a member of the legislative council (MLC) instead of getting an MLA to vacate an assembly seat and become an MLA within six months of assuming office.
In the process, he became the fourth MLC CM of UP. Ram Prakash Gupta, also of the BJP, was the first MLC CM of the state in November 1999.
Of the 28 states, only six follow the bicameral system – have both legislative assembly and legislative council. Besides UP, the other five states to have a legislative council are Bihar, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.
At the moment, besides Yogi Adityanath, two other CMs – Nitish Kumar in Bihar and Udhav Thackeray in Maharashtra – are MLCs. Basavaraj Bommai in Karnataka, YSR Reddy in Andhra Pradesh and K Chandrashekar Rao in Telangana are MLA CMs.
First CM to retain power in 37 years
Narayan Dutt Tiwari of the Congress was the CM of undivided UP in 1985 when the state faced an election. The Congress won and so did Tiwari who went on to retain the post for the second term in a row.
Since then, no other CM has succeeded in retaining the CM’s chair for the second consecutive term. Yogi Adityanath has a chance to create a record.
Before ND Tiwari, three other CMs had returned to power for the second consecutive terms. They were Sampoornananda in 1957, Chandrabhanu Gupta in 1962 and state minister Rita Bahuguna Joshi’s father Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna in 1974.
Yogi Adityanath may well become the fifth CM in UP’s history to win a consecutive term.
First BJP CM to return to power
UP has seen four CMs so far. Before Yogi Adityanath, the others to occupy the chair were Kalyan Singh, Ram Prakash Gupta and incumbent defence minister Rajnath Singh. However, none of the BJP CMs preceding Adityanath could retain power for the second consecutive term.
Yogi Adityanath stands a chance to set a new record of sorts.
First CM to break Noida jinx
Though superstition is against the spirit of the Constitution whose Article 51 A (h) wishes “to develop the scientific temper, humanism and the spirit of inquiry and reform” as a fundamental duty for every Indian citizen, politicians of all hues have ignored it.
A “Noida jinx” is quite popular in UP. The residential-cum-industrial city of Noida, which stands for New Okhla Industrial Development Authority, is a part of National Capital Region (NCR) – a satellite town of the national capital Delhi – and a city in the Gautam Buddh Nagar district of UP.
According to the Noida jinx, whichever CM has visited the city during his tenure, has lost the next election or could not complete his term.
However, both Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Yogi gave two hoots to the superstition. The two visited Noida to inaugurate Delhi Metro’s Magenta Line on December 25, 2018.
Akhilesh Yadav had then commented that both Modi and Adityanath would lose the next Lok Sabha and UP assembly elections respectively.
However, while Modi won the 2019 Lok Sabha election and broke the jinx, now it is the turn of Adityanath to prove it wrong.
The Noida jinx became popular after the then UP CM Veer Bahadur Singh had to quit office in June 1988, a few days after he returned from Noida.
Singh’s successor ND Tiwari too lost the CM’s chair after visiting Noida. Subsequently, the CMs after him and other leaders started bypassing Noida.
Akhilesh’s father Mulayam Singh Yadav, Kalyan Singh and Rajnath Singh skipped visiting Noida when they were the CM of UP.
As UP CM between October 2000 to March 2002, Rajnath Singh inaugurated the Delhi-Noida-Delhi (DND) Flyway from Delhi instead of from Noida.
Similarly in May 2013, Akhilesh skipped the Asian Development Bank (ADB) summit organised in Noida in which former prime minister Manmohan Singh was the chief guest.
He bypassed Noida again when he inaugurated the 165-km Yamuna Expressway from Lucknow instead of from the industrial city.
Mayawati as UP CM ignored the jinx by flying to Noida to inaugurate the Dalit Smarak Sthal in October 2011. She lost the 2012 assembly election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *