WhatsApp has released its sixth user safety monthly report. The report is in accordance with the IT Rules 2021. The user-safety report is for the month of November and contains details of the user complaints received and the corresponding action taken by WhatsApp, as well as WhatsApp’s own preventive actions to combat abuse on its platform. According to the report, WhatsApp banned 1,759,000 Indian accounts. Here are the details and more …
What is the exact time period of banning these accounts
WhatsApp banned 1,759,000 Indian accounts between November 1, 2021-30 to November 30 2021.
How is an Indian account identified
An Indian account is identified via a +91 phone number.
Why were these accounts banned
WhatsApp banned these Indian accounts using the company’s abuse detection approach, which also includes action taken in furtherance to negative feedback received from users via the ‘Report’ feature.
What is abuse detection approach
The abuse detection operates at three stages of an account’s lifecycle: At registration, during messaging, and in response to negative feedback, which the company receives in the form of user reports and blocks. A team of analysts augments these systems to evaluate edge cases and help improve our effectiveness over time.
WhatsApp allows users to report accounts
WhatsApp allows users to report accounts that they think are spam, abusive or other issue. The company receives the last five messages sent to the user by the reported user or group, and they are not be notified about this. WhatsApp also receives the reported group or user ID, information on when the message was sent, and the type of message sent (image, video, text, etc.). A user can also choose to report an account by long pressing a single message.
WhatsApp also allows users to themselves block accounts
WhatsApp allows users to block numbers. When you block someone your last seen, online, status updates, and any changes made to your profile photo will no longer be visible to contacts you’ve blocked. Messages, calls, and status updates sent by the contact won’t show up on your phone and won’t be delivered to you.
Where can I see the accounts blocked on WhatsApp
The blocked accounts are visible in the Blocked section (iPhone and KaiOS) or Blocked contacts section (Android) of your WhatsApp settings.
What blocking contact does not do
Blocking a contact won’t remove you from your contacts’ list, nor will it remove you from the list on the contact’s phone. To delete a contact, you must delete the contact from your phone’s address book.