March 24, 2023

Punjab assembly elections: BJP releases first list of 34 candidates | Chandigarh News – Times of India

CHANDIGARH: The Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) on Friday released its first list of 34 candidates, for the February 20 Punjab assembly elections.
The BJP, Punjab Lok Congress(PLC) led-by former chief minister Captain Amarinder Singh and Shiromani Akali Dal (Sanyukt) led-by Rajya Sabha member Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa are contesting polls in alliance this time.
Punjab BJP president Ashwani Sharma said that the saffron party would field its candidates on 65 seats of the total 117 assembly constituencies.
The SAD (Sanyukt) also released its first list of 12 candidates in which Dhindsa’s son and former finance minister Parminder Singh has been fielded from his present constituency, Lehra.
While announcing 34 candidates, the BJP national general secretary Tarun Chugh said that the party has given representation to all sections of the society and the first list includes 12 candidates from farmer community, eight from Scheduled Caste families, 13 Sikh candidates and other candidates are from Mahajan, Bania, Jat Sikh and other communities.
He added that the first list has advocates, doctors, players, youngsters, women and even a former IAS officer.
The two sitting party legislators — Dinesh Singh from Sujanpur and Arun Narang from Abohar — will contest from their existing assembly segments.
Two women candidates have found place in the first list -– Renu Kashyap from Dina Nagar and Nimisha Mehta from Garhshankar.
Kashyap would be contesting against the cabinet minister Aruna Chaudhary.
Former IAS officer SR Ladhar has been given ticket from Gill (SC) reserve constituency.
The party has not included names of Punjab BJP president Ashwani Sharma, party’s state general secretaries Subhash Sharma and Jeevan Gupta in the first list.
Former cabinet ministers
The saffron party has included names of the party’s three former cabinet ministers in its first list. Manoranjan Kalia has been given ticket from Jalandhar Central, Surjit Kumar Jyani from Fazilka and Tikshan Sood from Hoshiarpur.
Similarly, former chief parliamentary secretary Krishna Dev Bhandari has been fielded from Jalandhar North.
Prominent turncoats
Former cabinet minister in the incumbent Congress government Rana Gurmeet Singh Sodhi, who had recently joined the BJP, has been fielded from Ferozepur City. Though he is a sitting MLA from Guru Har Sahai constituency.
Arvind Khanna, former cabinet minister in the Congress government, who is considered close to Amarinder Singh, has been fielded by from Sangrur constituency. He had joined the saffron party recently.
Nimisha Mehta, who was denied ticket by the Congress and had recently crossed over to the BJP, has been given ticket from Garhshankar assembly segment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *