December 6, 2022

Election round-up: Stage set for polling in Goa, Uttarakhand and UP phase-2 | India News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: The stage is all set for polling in Goa and Uttarakhand, and the second of the seven phase Uttar Pradesh assembly elections.
Assembly elections in Goa and Uttarakhand are being conducted in a single phase. In UP, 55 seats spread across 9 districts will be going to polls in the second phase.
301 candidates are in the fray for the 40 seats in Goa. On Monday, the polling will be between 7am-6pm.
The stae is witnessing a multi-cornered contest this time- a departure from the bi-polar politics where the Congress and BJP had been dominant players; local parties like GFP and MGP too have had sizeable presence.
However with AAP and Trinamool Congress trying to find a foothold, and Shiv Sena-NCP alliance campaigning hard, the election promises to be interesting.
The prominent candidates in Goa include chief minister Pramod Sawant (BJP), Leader of the Opposition Digambar Kamat (Congress), former CMs Churchill Alemao (TMC), Ravi Naik (BJP), Laxmikant Parsekar (independent), former deputy CMs Vijai Sardesai (GFP) and Sudin Dhavalikar (MGP), late CM Manohar Parrikar’s son Utpal Parrikar and AAP’s CM face Amit Paleker.
The state saw several MLAs shifting allegiance since the last assembly elections; this time too, the run-up to the elctions witnessed several politiicans switching parties.
In 2017, the Congress won 17 seats, while the BJP bagged 13. The BJP had then quickly stitched up an alliance with some regional outfits and independents to form government.
Uttar Pradesh
55 seats in India’s most populous state will vote on Monday to decide the fate of 586 candidates. The districts of Saharanpur, Bijnor, Moradabad, Sambhal, Rampur, Amroha, Budaun, Bareilly and Shahjahanpur vote in the second of the 7-phase UP election.
Eight assembly constituencies- Nagina, Dhampur, Bijnor, Asmoli, Sambhal, Deoband, Rampur Maniharan and Gangoh- have been placed in the ‘sensitive’ category.

In 2017, BJP won 38 of the 55 seats, SP 15 while the Congress bagged two.
Over 60,000 police personnel and nearly 800 companies (around 100 security personnel each) of paramilitary forces will be on duty on the election day, officials said, adding 4,917 polling booths out of 12,538 are considered “critical”.
Voters in all 70 seats of Uttarakhand can cast their ballot between 8am-6pm on Monday.
For the BJP, prominent candidates in the fray are chief minister Pushkar Singh Dhami, his cabinet colleagues Satpal Maharaj, Subodh Uniyal, Arvind Pandey, Dhan Singh Rawat and Rekha Arya besides state BJP president Madan Kaushik.
From the Congress side, former chief minister Harish Rawat, former minister Yashpal Arya, state Congress president Ganesh Godiyal and Leader of Opposition in the fourth assembly Pritam Singh are among the known faces contesting this time.
The BJP had won 57 out of the 70 seats in Uttarakhand in the last assembly polls limiting Congress to just 11. Two seats had gone to Independents.
AAP, with candidates in each of the 70 seats, has made the contest in Uttarakhand tri-cornered.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *