March 24, 2023

Election round-up: Prime Minister Modi hits out at SP in first virtual rally; EC extends ban on roadshows | India News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: In his first virtual rally ahead of the elections to five states including Uttar Pradesh, Prime Minister Narendra Modi hit out at the Samajwadi Party (SP) and accused it of providing patronage to criminals during its rule.
“Taking revenge is their ideology,” he said, adding that “I am happy that the people of Uttar Pradesh are alert about those who have ‘dangai soch’ (riot mentality)”.
Meanwhile, the Election Commission on Monday extended the Covid-induced ban on roadshows, ‘padyatras’, vehicle rallies and processions in the five poll-bound states till February 11. However, it relaxed norms for door-to-door campaigning and physical public meetings for all phases.
Among the new set of relaxations, the number of people allowed for door-to-door campaigning has been raised from 10 to 20, while a maximum of 1,000 people can attend physical public meetings.
Here is a look at the key political developments on Monday:
Uttar Pradesh
Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday launched a scathing attack on the Samajwadi Party, saying mafia and rioters used to be the law unto themselves during its rule in Uttar Pradesh.
In his first virtual poll rally after the announcement of the assembly elections, PM Modi said while the BJP was working for development, the opposition party wanted to exact ”revenge”, but added that the people of Uttar Pradesh are alert to those who have ‘dangai soch’ (rioters’ mentality).
Meanwhile, Union minister S P Singh Baghel will take on Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav in Karhal constituency. Karhal assembly segment is part of Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat, which is represented by Akhilesh Yadav’s father Mulayam Singh Yadav.
Detailed coverage
Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra said her party will contest all the 403 assembly seats in the state polls after nearly three decades.
The Congress announced seven more candidates, including three women. From Kalyanpur, the party has fielded Gayatri Tiwari, mother of Khushi Dubey who is in jail. Khushi Dubey is the wife of Amar Dubey, an associate of gangster Vikas Dubey who killed eight policemen in Kanpur’s Bikru village in July 2020.
Chart of the day: How BJP dominated SC seats in 2017 UP polls

The Supreme Court directed Punjab Police to not arrest SAD leader Bikram Singh Majithia till February 23 in a drugs case so he can undertake electioneering in the state.
A bench comprising Chief Justices N V Ramana and Justices A S Bopanna and Hima Kohli, however, directed Majithia to surrender before a trial court after the Punjab polls scheduled February 20.

majithia bik (1)

Bikram Majithia. (File photo.)

Nawanshahr Congress MLA Angad Saini filed nomination as an Independent from the seat following the denial of party ticket, allegedly after his legislator wife joined the BJP in UP. Saini’s wife Aditi Singh was a Congress MLA from Rae Bareli and had quit the party to join the BJP.
Shiromani Akali Dal patriarch Parkash Singh Badal (94) became the country’s oldest candidate to fight elections as he filed his nomination papers from Lambi. Former chief minister Amarinder Singh, too, filed his nomination papers from Patiala Urban Assembly constituency.
Horses worth Rs 95.82 lakh, two weapons valued at Rs 3 lakh and immovable properties worth Rs 52.95 crore were part of the total assets of Rs 122.77 crore declared by Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) chief Sukhbir Singh Badal in his affidavit. The SAD president filed his nomination papers from Jalalabad in Fazilka district.
Union minister Pralhad Joshi on Sunday accused the Congress party of making just a show of its love for the armed forces with an eye on polls and asked why did it not implement the one-rank-one-pension plan if it cared for them.
Congress leader Charan Singh Sapra accused the BJP governments at the Centre and in Uttarakhand of “picking pockets” of the poor to fill their coffers.
BJP MLA P Saratchandra joined the Congress, a day after he quit the saffron camp, having failed to secure a ticket for Manipur assembly polls. Senior BJP leaders N Biren and N Joykumar also followed suit.
Saratchandra, who represents Moirang seat, accused the BJP of favouring newcomers to old-timers. Congress election in-charge Bhakta Charan Das welcomed all three of them.
The Naga People’s Front (NPF) which won four seats in the Manipur assembly elections in 2017 said it would contest in 10 constituencies this time. The Shiv Sena also released its first list of six candidates for the election to the 60-member assembly.
The five states of UP, Punjab, Manipur, Goa and Uttarakhand will go to polls in February. The results will be announced on March 10.
(With inputs from agencies)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *