March 24, 2023

bjp: Election round-up: BJP, Amarinder finalise seat sharing in Punjab; SP announces 159 candidates in UP | India News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: The BJP and its allies Captain Amarinder Singh-led Punjab Lok Congress and SAD (Sanyukt) finalised the seat sharing formula as which the saffron party would contest 65 seats.
Meanwhile, in Delhi to finalise the seat-sharing former chief minister Amarinder Singh launched a sharp attack on Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu. Amarinder Singh claimed that Pakistani leadership wanted Sidhu reinstated a minister in his government.
In Uttar Pradesh, the Samajwadi Party (SP) released a list of 159 candidates. Congress also released a list of candidates for Uttarakhand.
Here is a quick round-up of the key political developments on a busy Monday:
BJP and its allies finalised their seat-sharing formula. Of the state’s 117 Assembly seats, the BJP will contest 65, Punjab Lok Congress 37 and Sikhdev Singh Dhindsa-led SAD (Sanyukt) 15 seats.
Nadda said Punjab is a border state and security is a very important issue as far as assembly elections are concerned.
Hailing Punjab as a “leader”, especially in defence and food security of the country, he said, “Today Punjab needs special attention, it needs a double engine government and a better coordination between the Centre and the state.”
Amarinder Singh, meanwhile, fired a salvo at Sidhu claiming he had got a message from Pakistan to reinstate cricketer-turned-politician in his government because he was an old friend of their prime minister. Asked about the allegation at a press conference, Sidhu dubbed Singh as a “spent cartridge” and refused to comment further.
Uttar Pradesh
The Samajwadi Party released a list of 159 candidates, fielding party chief Akhilesh Yadav from Karhal in Mainpuri district, jailed leader Azam Khan from Rampur and renominating party MLA Nahid Hasan from Kairana. Former state minister Dharam Singh Saini, who crossed over to the SP a few days ago, has been named as the party’s nominee from Nakur seat in Saharanpur district.
Azam Khan’s son Abdullah Azam has been made the party candidate from Suar Tanda assembly seat. Shivpal Yadav, who is the uncle of Akhilesh Yadav, has been declared as the candidate from Jaswantnagar in Etawah district.
The BJP, meanwhile, slammed the SP chief Akhilesh Yadav for his reported comments that China is India’s real enemy while Pakistan is a “political enemy” targeted by the ruling party for “vote politics”. BJP spokesperson Sambit Patra said this shows Yadav’s mindset and he should tender an apology to the country for the comments which show his “love” for Pakistan.
Congress released a list of candidates according to which former chief minister Harish Rawat would contest from Ram Nagar. Anukriti Gosain, the daughter-in-law of former minister Harak Singh Rawat, will contest from Lansdowne.
The Uttarakhand Congress launched a poll campaign, “Char Dham, Char Kam”, and made promises to people of the state. The promises included Rs 40,000 per annum to five lakh families in the state and not letting the LPG cylinder price cross Rs 500.
Launching the poll campaign in the presence of Congress campaign head Harish Rawat, Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel said the four promises are being made as price rise and unemployment are at their peak while the poor are getting poorer and the rich becoming richer.
Trinamool Congress (TMC) vice-president Yashwant Sinha dubbed the BJP’s oft-repeated phrase ‘double engine governments’ as a way to promote “dictatorship”. The former Union minister assured that pre-poll promises made by the TMC in Goa would be implemented if the Mamata Banerjee-led party comes to power in the coastal state after the February 14 assembly polls. Talking to reporters here, the bureaucrat-turned-politician said, “Sometimes in ‘double engine governments,’ it is possible that one engine goes in one direction, and the other in another direction.”
“On a serious note, I want to mention that if the central government of the BJP is trying to emphasize on wanting to run double engine governments then all they want is to run a dictatorship,” Sinha said.
The National People’s Party announced its first list of 20 candidates for Manipur assembly elections with three sitting MLAs, including Deputy Chief Minister Y Joykumar Singh, contesting from their seats. The party, which is a BJP-ally, is going it alone in the upcoming polls and has fielded candidates against its partner in all the seats it is contesting.
Y Joykumar Singh will again contest from his Uripok constituency, while NPP’s Manipur unit president L Jayantakumar Singh and N Kayisii will seek re-election from Keishamthong and Tadubi assembly segments respectively.
The five states go to polls next month.
(With agency inputs.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *